Exam Time

I’m nearing the end of my Basic section (I cannot believe how fast time has flown by), which means that exam time is here, which means studying. I have been out of college for five years now and in that time I forgot how boring studying can be. Okay, maybe I should take that back since I did spend months studying for the GMAT last year, but that was a different type of studying. The studying I’m doing for my exams brings me right back to my school years. I’ve spent hours already writing note cards that I will probably only look at a few times, but for me it seems to be the action of writing the note cards that helps me to memorize the information.

I’m sure you’re wondering why I even need note cards, because perhaps you are like me and thought that in culinary school there were only practical exams…nope, we thought wrong, there are written exams too. For Basic the written exam, which takes place this Tuesday, consists of a variety of questions: multiple choice, true/false and association. As well as an “ingredient list” section, where we are given an ingredient list from one of our recipes and we have to fill in any missing ingredients or quantities. I have always been a good standardized test taker, so in theory this all shouldn’t be too difficult except for the fact that because I am doing both cuisine and patisserie I obviously have a written exam for each, so double the memorizing. And of course that is not even taking into consideration that a week and a half later we have our practical exams for which I have to memorize 20 recipes (10 for each exam) because on the day of the exam I will draw a recipe from a bowl and have to prepare that recipe from memory and then my finished dish will be judged by a jury panel. Well on that note, I have once again become slightly overwhelmed describing it all, so back to the studying for me. Wish me luck!

3 Comments

Filed under Le Cordon Bleu

3 responses to “Exam Time

  1. Suzanne Kanner

    Good luck!!! I know you will do very well. How could this compare to the GMAT, which you aced!
    🙂 Lots of love, Suzanne

  2. Lyndsey

    Good luck Rose!!!! I’m cheering for ya!!! miss you!!!

  3. How are exams going? Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

