My Monday Morning

Like everyone, I’ve never been a huge fan of Mondays. In elementary school, high school, college, the working world, Mondays have never been fun. However, for the first time in my life I’ve stopped dreading Mondays…well I guess I should say, I HAD stopped dreading Mondays, until today. During a demonstration on Friday we learned how to make Rabbit with Mustard Sauce and ever since then, I couldn’t stop thinking about the rabbit I would have to butcher on Monday morning at 8:30 am.

I am not a vegetarian. I eat meat and when I eat meat, I am completely cognizant that it comes from an animal that has died to feed me. It doesn’t make me feel bad. I’m sorry, maybe that sounds bad to some, but it just doesn’t. Nonetheless, the meat that I eat is usually limited to farm animals: chickens, turkeys, pigs, cows and the occasional buffalo (mmm, I love me a buffalo burger). Animals that I think are cute, but not ones that I grew up with. Not animals with names, animals I cared for and cuddled with. Dead rabbits not only remind me of my childhood pet rabbit, Boomer, but also of my cats Bubbie and Bob. If you don’t believe me, here is a picture of the lapin that greeted me this morning.

I know from experience what a skinned cat looks like (no, I am not a sociopath, I had to dissect a cat in high school physiology) and in case you were curious, it looks a lot like the picture above. The chef assured us that they were not cats and were in fact rabbits, which wasn’t really that reassuring, since I wasn’t too stoked about butchering a rabbit either. Though in the end, it really wasn’t that bad. I did it. I survived. Oh and that liver that you can’t take your eyes off in the picture above, I had to save that and cook it too, along with the kidneys. They got skewered on a piece of rosemary and seared. Here is a picture of finished dish.

So the next time you are sitting at your desk on a Monday morning fearing the 160 new emails that are starring back at you, stop and remember the picture above and be thankful that they are just emails and not a dead Bugs Bunny with pointy teeth and sad cloudy blue eyes.

8 Comments

Filed under Le Cordon Bleu

8 responses to “My Monday Morning

  1. Aunt Kath N

    Oh dear!! Gruesome. I am so proud of you, you brave soul… Question: how did you cook the rabbit? Did you like it???

    • Short version of the recipe, off the top of my head, cause my notes are at school: we coated the rabbit pieces in flour, seared them in an ovensafe pan on the stovetop with shallots, garlic and rosemary, brushed the rabbit with mustard, covered with white wine and chicken stock, simmered on the stovetop with a lid for 15 minutes and then finished in the oven for a few more minutes. Then we removed the meat to rest, reduced the jus, added cream and more mustard, strained through a chinois, reduced some more and seasoned. The sauce was delicious. In addition to rabbit, it would also be great on chicken or pork.

  2. Suzanne Kanner

    eeeuuwwww…………..
    But how did it taste?
    Or could you even try?

  3. Samantha

    Ugh…I could not have done that….More power to you….

  4. Ona

    OK, OK you are right, the emails don’t look so bad right about now. But maybe that’s because I am reading your blog instead of replying to them:)

  5. Diane Kelly

    yes, that raw rabbit does look horrible, but we’re game if you want to make that for us when you get back, the finished dish looks yummy!

  6. Brenda House

    Rose Kelly, this is the saddest thing I have read/viewed in a long time. I have never eaten rabbit and, now, I don’t know if I ever will.

Leave a Reply

